I recently came across the idea of polytheism from a couple of posts that were recommended to me by WordPress. The OxfordDictionaries.com defines polytheism as “The belief in or worship of more than one god”. It is a religious worldview that encompasses many different gods and belief systems. 

I think I need to clarify my position on the gods and goddesses, and my relationship to them. I consider myself monotheistic, in that I believe in a single Creator, and all other entities spring from IT. My version of GOD is not a person, or even an entity…it is ALL THAT IS. It is the LIGHT.


Back in second year University, I took a basic Astronomy for Non-Scientists course. We watched the most fascinating documentary on a new light source that NASA had discovered. It was beyond the ultraviolet level, and everything glowed with it. It was everywhere in the universe, and they could not find a source for this light. I remember smacking my head in bewilderment and disgust…they had found GOD and didn’t even know what they were looking at!!! This is what GOD is…an all-encompassing LIGHT that everything is made of, and which everything glows with. Light is all there is…even darkness is merely the absence of light. Shine light into the darkness, and what happens? It becomes Light. Darkness is an illusion, for the only thing that truly exists is the Light.


Now, this concept doesn’t leave a lot of room to relate to. Especially in our human forms, here on this dense plane of existence. I remember reading somewhere (Edgar Cayce maybe?) that GOD rested onto itself, and then created forms for company. A way to experience something greater than Itself, to have something to do. The souls he created became separate from IT, and would have to work to get back to that totality. That is each soul’s true purpose…to perfect ourselves so we can become one with God again.

Now there are all kinds of souls in the universe, all at different levels of development. Some have free will, and took on that responsibility in order to “fast-track” their development. Let’s face it…if you can be good and kind and stay totally heart-centered here, in this most dense, negative plane of existence, then you are way ahead of the game. It is said that only the bravest souls come to Earth, for it is truly a hellish place to try to perfect yourself in. I have read that the angels admire and respect us for this bravery, and are more than willing to help us, knowing how truly awful some of our journeys will be. And of course other humans who have passed over have an even more intimate understanding of the trials and tribulations, and many have agreed to help their fellow humans too. They become spirit guides for us.


This is where I believe the gods and goddesses come in. I believe most, if not all, have free will and have had incarnations on Earth. Some may be be aliens too, like the Nordic gods who come from Asgard. But I think they lived here too, at least for a period of time. They are more advanced divine beings though, and act in the capacity of guardian spirits.

I do not worship any god or goddess, or follow a religion based on their worship. I do personally know a few of them, and they have come into my life to help me. They have my gratitude and respect for this. My shrines are not so much a part of any religious practice, as they are reminders of each of them, and a way to know them better. I outlined this idea more fully in my Spiritual Appropriation post.  I consider them spirit guides, like any other ascended master or ancestor.

And yet, I do not have shrines set up for my other spirit guides, or for my wonderful Guardian Angel Carolla. Hmmm…am I being inconsistent here???? Am I really a closet polytheist???


I want to claim to be an agnostic, but looking up the definition on Wikipedia, I begin to wonder if this is true of me.

According to the philosopher William L. Rowe, “agnosticism is the view that human reason is incapable of providing sufficient rational grounds to justify either the belief that God exists or the belief that God does not exist.” Agnosticism is a doctrine or set of tenets rather than a religion as such.

What I am is a non-conforming monotheist who doesn’t believe in organized religion. I am more pagan than anything, for my spiritual beliefs are wide and varied. Although looking up the term Spiritualist, that fits too.

Spiritualism is a belief that spirits of the dead have both the ability and the inclination to communicate with the living. The afterlife, or “spirit world”, is seen by spiritualists, not as a static place, but as one in which spirits continue to evolve.

The term spiritualist fits the best I guess…or am I a monotheistic Spiritualist? bleah I guess it doesn’t matter…a rose by any other name, right? I’m just getting bogged down by semantics here, but I guess this was an exercise in clarity. Maybe. LOL

