I just read an interesting post from The Babbler on called “Life Hacks of the Poor and Aimless” by Laurie Penny. Wow. Love this statement:

The slow collapse of the social contract is the backdrop for a modern mania for clean eating, healthy living, personal productivity, and “radical self-love”—the insistence that, in spite of all evidence to the contrary, we can achieve a meaningful existence by maintaining a positive outlook, following our bliss, and doing a few hamstring stretches as the planet burns. The more frightening the economic outlook and the more floodwaters rise, the more the public conversation is turning toward individual fulfillment as if in a desperate attempt to make us feel like we still have some control over our lives.

It does seem as if there is a big push for self-realization these days. I know this is more a function of the ascension process we are all going through though. It seems to me that the less spiritually involved are being forced to become enlightened too, and it’s just expressing itself in more mundane, physical ways. Although I know I too am being called to stay away from GMOs and heavily processed foods that lack any true nutrition. I am still working on the radical self-love thing…or should I say, dealing with it yet again.

Am I working on my issues, or is it more a socio-political thing that the post suggests? An interesting premise. Yes, I am very poor, and living on social assisted disability. Am I really just desperately trying to gain control over my life? Hmmm…control issues are a big thing for this Scorpio, indeed for all Scorpios…

This article had me uh-huhing at many things, yet ultimately, it left me feeling kinda disturbed. I think it is coming from someone who is unaware of the ascension process, and is strictly focused on the material world, and explaining the occult in mundane fashion. I guess I’m disturbed because although she’s right, her focus is skewed. Or…is it mine that is skewed? Oh oh…self-doubt rearing its ugly head again! sigh I’ll have to re-read that article another time…I am feeling tired and fuzzy-brained today.

 

