For many years now, I have had problems with my feet burning. Usually this is at night, and the heat actually wakes me up. If I walk for a long time they also will burn up. I have been to a podiatrist who was unable to find anything wrong, saying I have a good strong pulse in my feet, so it’s not a circulatory problem. I have had vascular testing done too, and again, my veins are “really good for someone my age”! LOL

I’ve even had the horrible experience of having my feet swell up to the extent that I have lost the bend in my foot and my ankles! The first time this happened, I went to the hospital at the insistence of my friend, who took me herself. I already had the problem for a few days, and it just wasn’t getting better on its own, and she was worried for me too. I spent 2 days at the hospital, getting a myriad of tests done. Finally, the doctor said there was nothing wrong with my feet and he didn’t know what to do about them. sigh. It went away after about a week. The second time it happened, years later, I didn’t even bother going to the doctor or hospital. Whenever doctors tell me that there is nothing wrong with me despite the evidence, I know it’s a kundalini thing.


I was recently speaking with another blogger who offered me some good info on the lower chakras, which are rarely spoken of. However, looking up the names of the foot chakras did not lead me to any real info on my foot problem. The talk about the foot chakras is more about the lower levels of hell and bad tendencies like torture and stealing and all kinds of negative traits, which is not my problem! LOL I did find something that said that all the leg chakras have both a positive and negative charge, and gave me both a negative and a positive aspect to that chakra. There are a series of 7 chakras that exist below the standard (and more traditionally acknowledged) 7, and they go down along the leg and correspond to the base animal instincts. They are also related to the Hindu underworld patala. Why they are related is totally beyond me at this point! And that Hindu underworld stuff seems to be the bulk of the information I could find on the internet. bleah The following info is the best that I could find (so far).


Lower chakras
There are said to be a series of seven chakras below muladhara going down the leg, corresponding to the base animal instincts, and to the Hindu underworld patala. They are called atala, vitala, sutala, talatala, rasatala, mahatala and patala.

Atala
This chakra is located in the hips, it governs fear and lust. The opposing attribute to balance this chakra is governed by the right to be sexual.
Vitala
Located in the thighs, it governs anger and resentment. The opposing attribute to balance this chakra is forgiveness.
Sutala
Located in the knees, it governs jealousy. The opposing attribute to balance this chakra is the right to be self-confident.
Talatala
Translated as ‘under the bottom level’, it is located in the calves, and it is a state of prolonged confusion and instinctive willfulness. The opposing attribute to balance this chakra is the right to be conscious.
Rasatala
Located in the ankles, it is the centre of selfishness and pure animal nature. The opposing attribute to balance this chakra is the right to be charitable.
Mahatala
Located in the feet, this is the dark realm ‘without conscience’, and inner blindness. The opposing attribute to balance this chakra is the right to be expansive and unimpeded.
Patala
Located in the soles of the feet, this is the realm of malice, murder, torture and hatred, and in Hindu mythology it borders on the realm of Naraka, or Hell. The opposing attribute to balance this chakra is the right to be empathetic and understanding.


It is the Mahatala and Patala ones that most interest me in my quest to understand what is wrong with my feet. Now, what is interesting though, is that the positive traits of the Patala chakra is the right to be empathetic and understanding. This makes me wonder if my foot problems are related to my empathy. But I have been an aware Empath all my life…I used to talk to animals and trees as a child, which made the other kids scared of me. School was an unpleasant eye-opener for me. sigh

So…if my foot chakras are blocked, then there is too much energy swirling in them. It would seem I need to ground more? I usually think to do grounding when I am flat on my back meditating, so I use my root chakra for grounding. I guess I need to go out in nature more and stand barefoot so I can ground that way. I have gotten one of those river rock mats that I’ve placed under my bed so I can pull it out when my feet get hot. It does seem to be helping, in that my feet haven’t been as hot in the last little while, when I think about it now.


However, I originally thought that the foot problems (I get aches and pain too at times) were more related to the new Earth Star chakra. There is some good information at Reiki Rays here. It has to do with our connection to the Earth and keeping us grounded. Yet I don’t have any of the problems related to an unbalanced Earth Star Chakra. I do know that I don’t have a strong connection to Earth, maybe because I’m actually a Starseed? I know that I seem to have problems grounding properly…I’m not sure why.

So I think I should go back to the foot chakras and see if working with them will help my foot problems. Maybe the fact that I have fallen metatarsal arches is part of the problem? The podiatrist didn’t seem to think so, but maybe it’s throwing the foot chakras out of alignment? Hmmm…if that’s the case, what in the world do I do about it? I don’t know if there is a way to fix the metatarsal arches. Time for more research! LOL

