Well, I’m not sure if I have a new spirit animal or not, but I’m thinking maybe Dragonfly has come to help me with my astral traveling. She was given to me by Oya, but if she’s here to stay or not remains to be seen.

I’ve decided to look up the meaning of the dragonfly, since I seem to have started to collect images of them in my Oya Pinterest album. This was an unconscious thing, but I’m thinking that it’s indicative of a new guide coming in. Just like with the Orishas. I am surprised and pleased that I am encountering new spirits who want to help me. I have been careful to put white Light around myself so only that of the Highest and Best will come to me, so I feel confident that the new Guides I am drawing to me are indeed of the Light, and not the False Light. I shield myself first thing in the morning, and the last thing at night, so if something is still getting through, it has to be of the Light. Right?


Now, I have issues with bugs. I don’t like them, and there are a lot of them around lately. I found a flea on my cat a few weeks ago, there was a huge beetle on the pillow the other night, there are spiders both inside and out, I’m besieged by damn fruit flies…bleah! I also wrote in another post that I believe that bugs are of a group consciousness and don’t have souls, so you don’t find them on the Other Side. When they die, they are re-absorbed into Gaia’s consciousness. So how could an insect become a spirit guide???? I think this is holding me back from using a dragonfly as a spirit guide to help me on my journey to the truth about the Moon. Although Oya did offer her to me. Hmmm….let’s look up about the spiritual meaning of dragonflies…


Well, it seems they are symbolic of transformation, change and light. They also represent things like joy and lightness of being. Joy. Okay. A code word for me. According to this one site, dragonflies also warn us to beware of illusions and deceit, and will connect us to the animal and spiritual world. They even write:

You can call on the dragonfly power animal when you’re stuck in a situation and need assistance to gain a new perspective. The solution might lay in your ability to adapt and tackle the issue from a different angle.

Hmmm…that sounds like what I need for this investigation of the moon! And this too…

When the dragonfly shows up in your life, it’s perhaps time to look through illusion. A situation or someone’s intentions are not clear and may be deceiving.

And PsychicKarina.com speaks of the spiritual meaning of dragonflies in general in her post. If you are encountering them in your life, it means you are going through a major transformation, that the “magic and mystery of life” is coming into play in your life and that exploring it can change your life. Again…it all seems to be meshing with what is going on in my life, especially with my interest in figuring out the Moon mystery.


So…it would seem like Dragonfly would be a most excellent new Spirit Guide. I’m still stuck with reconciling how an insect can be a Spirit Guide though. Unless of course, she is representing the entirety of the dragonfly group consciousness? As an aspect of Gaia herself. This makes intuitive sense to me…Gaia is helping me in finding out the answer, using the symbology of the dragonfly, because of my association of it with Oya. Okay…I can get on board with that. 🙂 I will have to see if it is indeed a new Spirit Guide, but I am okay with using the Dragonfly as a guide to help me get to the moon and try to understand what is going on there. I’m finding myself a little excited to do my meditation tonight and reach out to the dragonfly that showed up in this morning’s meditation. Wish me luck!

