Wow…it’s been three days since I posted, so I thought I’d do a simple post on a favorite stone of mine. The picture above is my actual piece, which is roughly 1.5 inches in diameter.

Howlite is white with grey veining. It is often dyed blue or green to resemble turquoise, or red to resemble coral. It is a super-calming stone and many people use it to relieve stress of all kinds. It makes an excellent antidote to insomnia due to an overactive mind. – Emily Gems

This is a rather large piece that I sleep with, but I’m not sure if it helps the insomnia at all. I probably need a much bigger piece! LOL But it doesn’t feel right not to have it in the bed with me, so I always have it, and a similar sized piece of hematite, beside me at night while I sleep.


I also have a piece of the blue dyed howlite, as a necklace. Hmmm…not sure where it is to be honest. But something I noticed with the white howlite…it is full of Light! Whenever I hold it and close my eyes, my vision fills with white light. It’s really quite amazing…and that is the main reason I like to have it with me at night. I swear, it makes the entire bedroom seem lighter too (I’m scared of the dark…very phobic).

I use the howlite and the hematite in my shielding meditation before going to sleep. I imagine the white light surrounding me, and the hematite forming an egg shaped shield over top of the light, to hide the light from other entities/energies. Don’t need ghosts or any of the Dark noticing the bright white light around me! And when I hold the howlite with the black hematite, I can actually see white light with a shiny, metallic glint over it in my field of vision.


Healing properties of howlite

  • Relieves insomnia
  • Balances calcium levels
  • Strengthens teeth and bones

Howlite is primarily associated with the crown chakra, but can also be used to stimulate and balance all the chakras. This author claims

Sometimes howlite feels very grounding and even heavy to me, in spite of the fact it has a strong association with the Crown chakra. I think this stems from my tendency to want to “live in the clouds” and lose my earth connection. In truth, though, this is a most useful energy for me or others with this tendency, because we are spiritually bereft if we do not have an anchor in the Earth plane where we are currently sent to live by the Divine.

I would agree with her…it does seem like a “heavier” stone, as opposed to one of the “light” crystals usually associated with the crown chakra. I like her reasoning too…so it seems like it is a good stone to be sleeping with on many levels!


Here are other links to look it up on…

http://www.shimmerlings.com/gemstones/howlite/

http://www.healingcrystals.com/Howlite_Articles_98.html

