I’ve been hearing about the wonderful benefits of turmeric, and this article confirms it. They studied the effects in 3 groups…a placebo group, a group who took it in capsule form, and a group that used it as a spice in their food. The only results were in the group who ate it in its natural form, much to my disgust, since I don’t like its flavor. But it did show to have an effect on the gene that is involved in depression, asthma and eczema, and cancer. I guess I should be adding it to my meals…or maybe use it in this tea.

Turmeric and Ginger Tea

1 cup water
1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
Splash of milk or soy milk
Honey or maple syrup, to taste

In a small saucepan, bring water to boil. Add turmeric and ginger, reduce heat, and simmer for 10 minutes. Stir in milk and strain tea into a cup. Add sweetener to taste.

