Well, it’s 3:36 am and I still haven’t been able to sleep. But I was suffering from some nausea and decided to grab my piece of bismuth.

Now bismuth is the stuff that Pepto-Bismol is made from. Bismuth actually has mild antibiotic properties to it, and it makes Pepto-Bismol the ideal product to use if you have acid reflux/heartburn. Did you know that 60% of all acid reflux is caused by a bacterium called H. pylori? Yup…heartburn is often caused by an infection. So it’s best to use the Pepto in case it is the bacterium causing the problem.

I did know that bismuth was the active ingredient in Pepto-Bismal, but I had no idea it was such a pretty metal. Well actually, natural bismuth looks like this:

naturalbismuth

I guess it is silvery with a pinkish tinge. It still has a fascinating form though. The lab made pieces are heat treated and mixed with other alloys to give it the lovely multicolors, and I originally thought it’s snazzy form was part of the extrusion process or something. Guess not…just the pretty colors are. Like in my piece above in the header. I never knew it’s metaphysical properties, but I decided to try it to ease my nausea. And it worked! I think because it was the type of nausea that is symptomatic of my acid reflux, but I have used it before when I felt nauseous, placing it on my stomach. This makes me think that perhaps it is a good stone to use with the diaphragm chakra. I will have to experiment more with this idea.


Now this site states that bismuth has the following properties (and note that it doesn’t mention nausea):

Rainbow colored Bismuth can be a wonderful stone to use for focus, visualization and shamanic journeying. It can prevent you from becoming overwhelmed by all of your responsibilities while at the same time increasing your energy levels to deal with them.

Bismuth relieves feelings of loneliness or isolation. It is a stone of transformation and change, helping to adapt to change with calm assurance. Bismuth encourages cohesiveness, so would be very helpful in group and/or relationship dynamics.

Physically, use Bismuth to reduce fevers; find new treatments to deal with chronic illnesses; ease the effects of degenerative muscle conditions, and get you back on your feet after major surgeries.

And this site goes into detail about why it’s so effective for using as a visualization tool:

These pieces are like Inca Temples or Egyptian pyramids, structured with a maze of paths and patterns. It’s the Problem Solver and Rainbow Bismuth is an amazing aid to meditation.
Let your eyes follow the pattern of the labyrinths…

Known for:

  • solving problems
  • finding solutions
  • finding a way around a difficult situation
  • clearing a path through the maze of Life

Actually, they do kinda look like pyramids, although since mine is relatively flat, I think it looks more like a Christmas tree. LOL Actually, it makes up into pretty jewellry too, as shown below. I wonder if wearing it as a necklace would help heal acid reflux? It would be better than the taste I would think!

bismuthjewellry

Looks nothing like Pepto-Bismol!!!

